FACT SHEET

State Minimum Wage Coverage
for Farm Workers

Most farm workers in Idaho must be paid at least

state minimum wage according to state law.
See details on the back of this Fact Sheet or visit our Web site at labor.idaho.gov.
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We are committed to administering this law in a fair
and balanced way. Our goal is to make the implementation
of this minimum wage law as user friendly and as simple as
possible. Our intent is to help farmers comply with the
law and to assure, through our wage claim process,
that farm workers are paid for the hours they work.”

ROGER B. MADSEN
Director, Idaho Department of Labor

For more information, visit our Web site at labor.idaho.gov
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State Minimum Wage Coverage
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TIMING B RECORD KEEPING

P The law became effective January 1, 2002. P Records should include:

COVERAGE 1. Employee’s name, home address, occupation, sex,
P The law guarantees farm workers the state minimum and birth date (if under 19 years of age);

wage of $7.25 an hour as of July 24, 2009, on all farms
except for the following employees:
P> The employer’s immediate family members;

. Hour and day when workweek begins;

. Total hours worked each workday and workweek;

. Total daily or weekly straight time earnings;

P> Seasonal hand harvest workers paid on
a piece rate basis where the employee commutes
daily from a permanent residence and works less
than 13 weeks a year;

Regular hourly pay rate;
Deductions from wages;
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Total wages paid each pay period; and

B Children 16 or younger employed in 8. Date of wage payment and pay period covered.

hand harvest labor on the same farm as » Records do not have to be kept in any particular form
their parents; and and time clocks need not be used.

P Employees engaged in range production » Records must be kept for a minimum of three years.
of livestock (cattle and sheep). » Employees must be paid for all hours worked in a

workweek. In general, hours worked includes all time
an employee must be on duty, or on the employer’s
premises or at any other prescribed place of work.

P> The law does not require farm workers to be paid
overtime.

P> This law does not require farm workers to be paid

only on an hourly basis. They can work and be paid ENFORCEMENT
on a piece rate basis. However, when working on a » When wage complaints are filed, the department will
piece rate basis, it is necessary for employers to keep enforce the state farm worker minimum wage law
records to document that the amount earned by piece through its wage claim process.
rate is not less than $7.25 an hour as of July 24,
2009, the minimum hourly wage. l
FOR MORE INFORMATION, CONTACT:
Southern Idaho Central Office Canyon County / Western Idaho
Idaho Department of Labor Idaho Department of Labhor Idaho Department of Labor
127 W. Fifth St.N. 317 W. Main St. 4514 Thomas Jefferson Ave.
Burley, Idaho 83318-3457 Boise, Idaho 83735 Caldwell, Idaho 83605
(208) 678-5518 (208) 332-3570 (208) 364-7781
Compliance Officer: Compliance Officer: Compliance Officer:
Linda Castarieda, ext. 3128 Daniel Rodriguez, ext. 3192 Marina Reynoso, ext. 3195
Linda.Castaneda@Iabor.idaho.gov N Daniel.Rodriguez@labor.idaho.gov N Marina.Reynoso@Iabor.idaho.gov
Eastern Idaho or call 800-843-3193 Northern Idaho
Idaho Department of Labor Idaho Department of Labor
430 N. Fifth Ave. ]D AHO 35 Wildcat Way, Ste. A
Pocatello, Idaho 83205-4087 Kellogg, Idaho 83837-2252
(208) 236-6710 DEPARTMENT OF LABOR (208) 783-1202
. , C.L. “ButcH” OTTER, GOVERNOR , ,
Compliance Officer: Rocer B. MASEN, DIRECTOR Compliance Officer:
Artie Holmes, ext. 3659 Dawn McLees, ext. 3922
Artie.Holmes@Iabor.idaho.gov Dawn.McLees@labor.idaho.gov

For more information, visit our Web site at labor.idaho.gov
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