blank

New Hire Reporting

317 W. Main St.
Boise, Idaho 83735-0610


Phone: (208) 332-8941

Toll-free: (800) 627-3880

Fax: (208) 332-7411

Email: newhire@labor.idaho.gov

       

Frequently Asked Questions

I just learned about New Hire Reporting and had no idea I was supposed to be doing this. Am I in trouble?

No. Federal guidelines allow states to impose penalties for noncompliance but right now Idaho does not, so please, send us your new hire reports even if you are past the 20-day requirement.

Do you need a list of all the current employees we haven't reported?

No. Start with your most recent employees (those hired since your last quarterly wage report) and start reporting all your new employees from that point forward.

Who counts as an employee?

An employee is an individual to whom an employer pays a salary, wage, remuneration or other compensation as part of the employment relationship and for whom the employer is required to complete an IRS Form W-2. In most instances, the employer is required to withhold income taxes from such salary, wage, remuneration or other compensation unless such compensation falls within the meaning of 26 USC § 3401.

Do you want the date they were hired or the date they started work?

We want the start date. The “date of hire” is defined as the first day the employee works for wages. Do not report a new hire if the employee has not yet started working for you.

What's my Idaho Unemployment Insurance account number?

Your Idaho Unemployment Insurance account number (also known as a SUTA – State Unemployment Tax Account number) is a number assigned by the Idaho Department of Labor for businesses that file unemployment insurance quarterly wage reports. You can find your account number on your quarterly form or by calling Employer Accounts at (208) 332-3576 or (800) 448-2977.

Do I need to report a new employee who quits before I report them?

If they earned wages, then they would still need to be reported as a new employee even if they left before you reported them.

Do I have to notify you when an employee leaves?

No. You are only required to respond when you receive an unemployment insurance claim filed by an employee. For more information about responding to employee claims please visit SIDES — State Information Data Exchange System or send an email to SIDES@labor.idaho.gov.

My current employee left and came back. Do I have to report him again?

If you’ve rehired a former employee less than 60 days after the employee left, then no you do not have to report the employee as a new hire. If it has been at least 60 days between the date the employee left and came back, then yes you do need to report the employee as a new hire, starting with the day the employee came back to work as the new date of hire.

Do I have to report independent contractors to you?

If the work performed is based on a contract rather than an employer/employee relationship, you do not have to submit a New Hire report. In such cases, the contractor is responsible for reporting his or her new employees.

My employee does not have a Social Security Number yet but has applied for one. Do I report them without a Social Security number so I won’t go past the 20-day limit?

No. In the case of newly hired alien visa employees, the 20-day timeframe to submit the new hire report begins when the employee has received a Social Security number from the Social Security Administration.

My new employee lives in Idaho but works in another state. In what state do I report the employee?

New employees should be reported to the New Hire Reporting program in the state where they work regardless of residence. Exceptions include multi-state employers registered with the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services that electronically report all new hires to a single state.

How do I get a password to report online?

Please call us at (208) 332-8941 or (800) 627-3880 , or send an email to newhire@labor.idaho.gov. To set up the password we’ll need your Federal Employer Identification Number (FEIN/EIN), a name and phone number for a contact and an email address in case you needed to reset your password and have a new one sent to you. We may need your company’s full name and address if we don’t already have that in our system.

Does QuickBooks report new hires for me?

No. QuickBooks does not offer a way to automatically report new hires to Labor, but it does have reports available. You might find this link helpful if you are interested in setting the report up on QuickBooks.



Return to the New Hire Directory

       

Adjusting Text Size

Use your web browser to control the text size of our website. See below for where to find these controls.


Google Chrome:


Safari:


Internet Explorer 6:


Internet Explorer 7+:


Mozilla Firefox:


Mozilla Firefox 2:



See instructions for other web browsers.