blank

Agricultural Services

Know the laws governing farmworker minimum wages and rights. Certify your business to hire foreign temporary agriculture workers or register as a farm labor contractor that hires migrant or seasonal agriculture workers.

Minimum wage coverage

All farm labor contractors in Idaho must be licensed to hire migrant or seasonal agricultural workers, and minimum wage is required with a few exceptions.

Farmworkers must be paid at least the state minimum wage of $7.25 an hour with a few exceptions.

Minimum wage fact sheet: English | Spanish

Farm labor contractors

Under the law, all persons performing farm labor contractor activities on behalf of migrant and seasonal farmworkers in Idaho must:

  • Be licensed by the state and pay an annual licensing fee
  • Post a surety bond to cover unpaid wages
  • Carry auto insurance for all vehicles used in the farm labor contracting business
  • Carry workers’ compensation coverage for all employees
  • Provide all employees at the time of hiring full disclosure of the conditions of employment

Farmer fact sheet: English 
Contractor fact sheet for farmworkers: English | Spanish
Contractor fact sheet for contractors: English | Spanish

Farm labor contractor forms

FLC-001 Information Regarding Farm Labor Contractor Licensing
FLC-002 Checklist
FLC-003 Social Security Advisory
FLC-004 Farm Labor Contractor's License Application
FLC-005 Farm Labor Contractor's Vehicle Information Sheet
FLC-006 Instructions for Completion of Farm Labor Contractor Bond
FLC-007 Farm Labor Contractor Bond
FLC-008 Sponsorship Statement for Contractor's Employee

Farm labor contractors licensed in Idaho

»  Farm labor contractor registry

Idaho farm labor contractor licensing laws

Certify temporary foreign agriculture workers

Agricultural employers who anticipate a shortage of domestic workers and plan to bring nonimmigrant foreign workers to the U.S. for temporary or seasonal agricultural labor must be certified to do so through the H-2A temporary agricultural program.

While much of the process involves the employer working directly with federal agencies ̶ see links below to learn about those ̶ the Idaho Department of Labor assists by reviewing the application, conducting housing inspections and helping the employer recruit qualified domestic workers.

Idaho Adverse
Effect Wage Rate

$10.69

See rates for other states

H-2A employer manuals,
posters and forms

U.S. Department of Labor Foreign Labor
Foreign Labor Certification Forms
H2A Program
Employer Guide to H2A

H2A jobs currently in Idaho
and nationwide


H2-A and H2-B application process questions

William Reed
Idaho Department of Labor
317 W. Main St.
Boise Idaho 83735
(208) 332-3570 ext. 3339
Fax (208) 947-0049
william.reed@labor.idaho.gov

H2-A survey questions

Robert Kabel
Idaho Department of Labor
317 W. Main St.
Boise, ID 83735
(208) 332-3570 ext. 3886
robert.kabel@labor.idaho.gov

Contact an Idaho labor laws rep


Farmworker services

 Agriculture labor market data



Adjusting Text Size

Use your web browser to control the text size of our website. See below for where to find these controls.


Google Chrome:


Safari:


Internet Explorer 6:


Internet Explorer 7+:


Mozilla Firefox:


Mozilla Firefox 2:



See instructions for other web browsers.