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GUIDE TO IDAHO LABOR LAWS 

The Idaho Department of Labor’s Wage and Hour Section is 

responsible for enforcing the state of Idaho’s wage and hour 

laws, which include the state minimum wage and wage 

payment laws. Effective in 2003, we also administer the 

licensing provisions of the state farm labor contractor 

licensing law. 

This guide provides general information about federal and 

state labor laws. It is for informational purposes only and 

is not a substitute for the law. The federal Fair Labor 

Standards Act can be found at Title 29 United States 

Code, Chapter 8. State law regarding minimum wage 

requirements can be found at Title 44, Chapter 15, Idaho 

Code; and state law regarding the payment of wages can 

be found at Title 45, Chapter 6, Idaho Code. The farm 

labor contractor licensing law may be found in Title 44, 

Chapter 16, Idaho Code. If legal advice is required, an 

attorney should be contacted. 

MINIMUM WAGE 

Unless specifically exempt, all employees subject to the 

provisions of the Idaho Minimum Wage Law must be paid 

at least $7.25 per hour effective July 24, 2009. The federal 

minimum wage increased to $7.25 per hour effective the 

same date.  

A “TIPPED EMPLOYEE” means any employee engaged in 

an occupation in which the employee customarily and 

regularly receives more than $30 a month in tips. 

To determine the wage of tipped employees, an 

employee’s tips combined with the employer’s cash wage 

must equal the minimum hourly wage. If it doesn’t, the 

employer must make up the difference. It is the 

employer’s burden to demonstrate the amount of tips 

actually received by the employee. 

Any portion of tips paid to an employee, which is shared 

with other employees under a tip pooling or similar 

arrangement, shall not be deemed, for the purpose of this 

section, to be tips actually received by the employee; 

therefore, only the portion of tips actually retained by the 

employee may be counted toward the tip credit. 

The minimum tipped wage in Idaho is $3.35 per hour 

effective July 24, 2007. 

 

 

 

 

It is important to note that the Idaho Minimum Wage Law 

applies to all Idaho employers unless they meet the 

specific exemptions under Idaho Code §44-1504. 

Even though businesses come under the exemptions for 

paying minimum wage by meeting the dollar volume test 

of the Fair Labor Standards Act, they are still subject to 

the provisions of the Idaho Minimum Wage Law. 

New employees under 20 years of age may be paid $4.25 

per hour during their first 90 consecutive calendar days of 

employment with an employer. 

EXEMPTIONS FROM THE IDAHO MINIMUM WAGE 

LAW 

Idaho’s Minimum Wage Law does not apply to any 

employee employed in a bona fide executive, 

administrative or professional capacity; to anyone 

engaged in domestic service; to any individual employed 

as an outside salesman; to seasonal employees of a 

nonprofit camping program; or to any child under the age 

of 16 years working part-time or at odd jobs not 

exceeding four hours per day with any one  employer; or 

any individual employed in agriculture if: such employee is 

the parent, spouse, child or other member of his 

employer’s immediate family; or such employee is older 

than 16 years of age and is employed as a harvest laborer 

and is paid on a piece-rate basis in an operation which 

has been, and is customarily and generally recognized as 

having been paid on a piece-rate basis in the region of 

employment, and commutes daily from his permanent 

residence to the farm on which he is so employed, and 

has been employed in agriculture less than 13 weeks 

during the preceding calendar year; or such employee is 

16 years of age or under and is employed as a harvest 

laborer, is paid on a piece-rate basis in an operation which 

has been, and is customarily and generally recognized as 

having been paid on a piece-rate basis in the region of 

employment, and is employed on the same farm as his 

parent or person standing in place of his parent, and is 

paid at the same piece-rate basis as employees over the 

age of 16 years are paid on the same farm; or such 

employee is principally engaged in the range production 

of livestock. 
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It should be noted that the federal Fair Labor 

Standards Act does not contain the same exemptions 

for minimum wage as noted in the Idaho State 

Exemptions for Minimum Wage. Employers should 

check with the U.S. Department of Labor before using 

minimum wage exemptions. 

WHO IS COVERED UNDER THE FEDERAL OVERTIME 

AND MINIMUM WAGE PROVISIONS OF THE FAIR 

LABOR STANDARDS ACT 

All employees of certain enterprises having workers 

engaged in interstate commerce; producing goods for 

interstate commerce; or handling, selling or otherwise 

working on goods or materials that have been moved in 

or produced for such commerce by any person, are 

covered by the Fair Labor Standards Act. A covered 

enterprise is the related activities performed through 

unified operation or common control by any person or 

persons for a common business purpose and  

(1) whose annual gross volume of sales made or 

business done is not less than $500,000, exclusive of 

excise taxes at the retail level that are separately 

stated; or 

(2) is engaged in the operation of a hospital, an 

institution primarily engaged in the care of the sick, 

the aged or the mentally ill who reside on the 

premises; a school for mentally or physically disabled 

or gifted children; a pre-school; an elementary or 

secondary school; or an institution of higher 

education, whether operated for profit or not for 

profit; or  

(3) is an activity of a public agency. 

Employees of firms which are not covered enterprises 

under the federal law still may be subject to its minimum 

wage, overtime pay and child labor provisions if they are 

individually engaged in interstate commerce or in the 

production of goods for interstate commerce or in any 

closely-related process or occupation directly essential to 

such production. Such employees include those who work 

in communications or transportation; regularly use the 

mail, telephones or telegraph for interstate 

communication or keep records of interstate transactions; 

handle, ship or receive goods moving in interstate 

commerce; regularly cross state lines in the course of 

employment; work for independent employers who 

contract to do clerical, custodial, maintenance or other 

work for firms engaged in interstate commerce; or work in 

the production of goods for interstate commerce. 

Domestic service workers such as day workers, 

housekeepers, chauffeurs, cooks or full-time babysitters 

are covered if (1) their cash wages from one employer are 

at least $1,000 in a calendar year (or the amount 

designated pursuant to an adjustment provision in the 

Internal Revenue Code), or (2) they work a total of more 

than eight hours a week for one or more employer. 

OVERTIME 

In accordance with the federal act and except as 

hereinafter otherwise provided, no employer shall employ 

any employee longer than 40 hours in a workweek 

consisting of seven consecutive 24-hour periods unless 

such employee receives compensation for the 

employment in excess of 40 hours at a rate not less than 1 

1/2 times the employee’s regular rate of pay. 

Workweek: A workweek is a period of 168 hours during 

seven consecutive 24-hour periods. It may begin on any 

day of the week and any hour of the day established by 

the employer. For the purpose of overtime payment, each 

workweek stands alone; there can be no averaging of two 

or more workweeks. 

COMPUTING OVERTIME FOR SALARIED EMPLOYEES 

Unless specifically exempt under the provisions of the 

federal law, salaried employees must be paid time and 

one-half for all hours worked in excess of 40 hours in a 

workweek. 

The following are examples of exemptions which are 

illustrative but not all-inclusive. These examples do not 

define the conditions for each exemption. 

FLSA EXEMPTIONS FROM BOTH MINIMUM WAGE 

AND OVERTIME PAY 

(1) Executive, administrative and professional employees 

including teachers and academic administrative 

personnel in elementary and secondary schools, 

outside sales employees and employees in certain 

computer-related occupations as defined in 

Department of Labor regulations; 

(2) Employees of certain seasonal amusement or 

recreational establishments, employees of certain 

small newspapers, seamen employed on foreign 

vessels, employees engaged in fishing operations 

and employees engaged in newspaper delivery; 

(3) Farm workers employed by anyone who used no 

more than 500 man-days of farm labor in any 

calendar quarter of the preceding calendar year; 

(4) Casual babysitters and persons employed as 

companions to the elderly or infirm. 
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FLSA EXEMPTIONS FROM OVERTIME PAY 

(1) Certain commissioned employees of retail or service 

establishments; auto, truck, trailer, farm implement, 

boat or aircraft sales workers; parts clerks and 

mechanics servicing autos, trucks or farm 

implements who are employed by nonmanufacturing 

establishments primarily engaged in selling these 

items to ultimate purchasers; 

(2) Employees of railroads and air carriers, taxi drivers, 

certain employees of motor carriers, seamen on 

American vessels and local delivery employees paid 

on approved trip rate plans; 

(3) Announcers, news editors and chief engineers of 

certain nonmetropolitan broadcasting stations; 

(4) Domestic service workers living in the employer’s 

residence; 

(5) Employees of motion picture theaters; and 

(6) Farm workers. 

FLSA PARTIAL EXEMPTIONS FROM OVERTIME PAY 

(1) Partial overtime pay exemptions apply to employees 

engaged in certain operations on agricultural 

commodities and to employees of certain bulk 

petroleum distributors. 

(2) Hospitals and residential care establishments may 

adopt, by agreement with their employees, a 14-day 

work period instead of the usual seven-day 

workweek if the employees are paid at least time 

and one-half their regular rates for hours worked 

over eight in a day or 80 in a 14-day work period, 

whichever is the greater number of overtime hours. 

(3) Employees who lack a high school diploma, or who 

have not attained the educational level of the 8th 

grade, can be required to spend up to 10 hours in a 

workweek engaged in remedial reading or training in 

other basic skills without receiving time and one-half 

overtime pay for these hours. However, the 

employees must receive their normal wages for 

hours spent in such training and the training must 

not be job specific. 

For information about the Fair Labor Standards Act and 

the federal minimum wage, contact:  

Northern Idaho 

U. S. Department of Labor 

ESA, Wage and Hour Division 

P. O. Box 1282 

Spokane, WA  99210 

Phone  (509) 353-2793 

Southwestern and Eastern Idaho 

U. S. Department of Labor 

ESA, Wage and Hour Division 

1150 N. Curtis Road, Suite 202 

Boise, ID 83706 

Phone (208) 321-2987, or  

(503) 326-3057 (Portland, OR) 

FAX:  (208) 321-2991 

See FLSA website  

CHILD LABOR PROVISIONS 

Idaho Child Labor Laws are found under Idaho Code §44-

1301 through §44-1308. Violations of the Idaho Child 

Labor Laws should be brought to the attention of the 

probation officer or the school trustees in the county 

where the violations occur. 

For businesses that fall under the coverage of the Fair 

Labor Standards Act, the Child Labor Laws are generally 

enforced by the U.S. Department of Labor. Federal Child 

Labor Laws are designed to protect the educational 

opportunities of minors and prohibit their employment in 

jobs and under conditions detrimental to their health or 

well-being. The provisions include restrictions on hours of 

work for minors under 16 years of age and list hazardous 

occupations for both farm and nonfarm jobs declared by 

the Secretary of Labor as being too dangerous for minors 

to perform. Further information on prohibited 

occupations is available from the U.S. Department of 

Labor offices listed previously. 

LEARNER/APPRENTICE CERTIFICATES 

A special certificate allowing employment at sub-

minimum wage may be allowed under certain 

circumstances. This certificate must be obtained from the 

director of the Idaho Department of Labor before a 

subminimum wage can be paid. 

IDAHO LAW DOES NOT REQUIRE 

• Vacation, holiday, severance or sick pay 

• A discharge notice or a reason for discharge 

• Rest periods, breaks, lunch breaks, holidays off or 

vacations 

• Premium pay rates for weekends or holidays worked 

• Pay raises or fringe benefits 

• A limit on the number of hours an employee can work 

per day or week for employees 16 years of age or 

older 

These items are matters for agreement between the 

employer and the employee or their authorized 

https://www.dol.gov/agencies/whd/flsa
https://legislature.idaho.gov/statutesrules/idstat/Title44/T44CH13/
https://legislature.idaho.gov/statutesrules/idstat/Title44/T44CH13/
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representative. If there is any change in a policy that is in 

effect, the employee must be notified prior to the change. 

RECORD KEEPING 

Employee records should be kept for a minimum of three 

years. The records do not have to be kept in any particular 

form and time clocks need not be used. These records 

should include:  

• Personal information, including employee’s name, 

home address, occupation, sex and date of birth if 

under 19 years of age 

• Hour and day when workweek begins 

• Total hours worked each workday and each workweek 

• Total daily or weekly straight time earnings 

• Regular hourly pay rate 

• Total overtime pay for each workweek 

• Deductions from wages 

• Total wages paid each pay period 

• Date of payment of wages and pay period covered 

Hours worked:  Employees must be paid for all hours 

worked in a workweek. In general, hours worked include 

all time an employee must be on duty, on the employer’s 

premises or at any other prescribed place of work. Also 

included is any additional time that an employee is 

suffered or permitted to work. 

WAGE PAYMENT LAW 

Idaho Code §45-606 through §45-617: 

1.  Upon layoff or termination by either the employer or 

the employee, all wages due must be paid to the 

employee the earlier of the next regularly scheduled 

payday or within 10 days of termination, weekends 

and holidays excluded. If the employee makes a 

written request for earlier payment of his wages, all 

wages then due must be paid within 48 hours, 

excluding weekends and holidays. Idaho Code §45-

606. 

2. Unless exempt from the minimum wage 

requirements of Idaho’s Minimum Wage Law, 

employees who are not being paid on an hourly or 

salary basis must be paid at least the applicable 

minimum wage for all hours worked in the pay 

period immediately preceding layoff or termination 

from employment. The minimum wage payment 

shall be made within the same time limitations 

provided for in Idaho Code §45-606. 

3. If an employer fails to pay all wages due as required 

by law, that employer may be subject to penalties in 

the amount of wages equal to the employee’s 

regular wage rate, as if he rendered service in the 

manner as last employed, for every day that the 

employer is in default up to 15 days, and a maximum 

of $750.00. Idaho Code §45-607. 

4.  Every employer shall pay all wages due to its 

employees at least once during each calendar month 

on regular paydays designated in advance. The end 

of a pay period for which payment is made on a 

regular pay period shall not be more than 15 days 

before such regular payday. Idaho Code §45-608. 

5.  If the regular payday falls on a non-workday, 

payment shall be made on the preceding workday. 

Idaho Code §45-608. No employer shall withhold or 

divert any portion of an employee’s wages unless: a) 

the employer is required or empowered to do so by 

state or federal law; or b) the employer has written 

authorization from the employee for deductions for 

a lawful purpose. Idaho Code §45-609. 

7.  Employers shall furnish each employee with a written 

statement of deductions made from his or her wages 

for each pay period such deductions are made. 

Idaho Code §45-609. 

8.  Every employer shall notify his or her employees at 

the time of hire of their rate of pay and regularly 

scheduled payday. Idaho Code §45-610. 

9.  Every employer shall notify his or her employees of 

any reduction in their rates of pay prior to the work 

being performed. Idaho Code §45-610. 

10.  When there is a dispute over the amount of wages 

due an employee, the employer shall pay the 

undisputed portion without condition. Idaho Code 

§45-611. 

11.  The acceptance by an employee of a check for 

wages when there is any restrictive endorsement 

written on the check shall not constitute a release 

with respect to the disputed amount. Idaho Code 

§45-611. 

12. Claims for wages filed with the Idaho Department of 

Labor are limited by the same dollar amount as the 

small claims department of the Magistrate Division 

of the District Court. Idaho Code §45-617. 

13. No employer shall discharge an employee or in any 

manner retaliate against an employee for asserting 

their rights under the Wage Payment Act and 

Minimum Wage Law. Idaho Code §45-613. 

14. It is a misdemeanor criminal offense for an employee 

to make a false claim for wages. Idaho Code §45-

612. 
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Wage claims can be filed online on the Labor website. If 

you have questions regarding the wage payment law, call 

any of the Idaho Department of Labor offices. For a listing, 

see our online office directory . 

OTHER ISSUES 

Questions regarding discrimination due to race, color, 

handicap, age, sex, national origin or religion should be 

addressed to:  

 Idaho Human Rights Commission 

 317 W. Main St. 

 2nd Floor 

 Boise, ID 83735-0660 

 Phone: 208-334-2873 or  

 Toll free: 888-249-7025 

 Web: humanrights.idaho.gov 

 

Questions regarding accidents occurring on the job or 

workers compensation benefits should be addressed to:  

 Idaho Industrial Commission 

 700 So. Clearwater Lane 

 Boise, ID 83712 or 

 P.O. Box 83720 

 Boise, ID 83720-0041 

 Phone: 208-334-6000 or  

 Toll free: 800-950-2110 

 Web: iic.idaho.gov 

Questions regarding unemployment compensation and 

tax coverage should be addressed to your local Idaho 

Department of Labor office. For a listing of locations, see 

our Web site at http://labor.idaho.gov. 

FARM LABOR CONTRACTOR LICENSING 

A farm labor contractor is any individual or business entity 

that for money or other compensation recruits, solicits, 

hires, employs, furnishes or transports migrant or seasonal 

farm workers. 

Farm labor contractors must:  (1) be licensed by the Idaho 

Department of Labor and pay an annual licensing fee; (2)  

post a surety bond to cover unpaid wages; (3) carry auto 

insurance for all vehicles used in the farm labor 

contracting business; (4) carry workers’ compensation 

coverage for all employees; and (5) provide all employees 

at the time of hiring full disclosure about the conditions of 

employment including the rate of pay, the benefits to be 

furnished by the farm labor contractor and all expenses 

that may be deducted from the farm worker’s wages. 

Some farm labor contractors are exempt from the 

requirements of Idaho’s Farm Labor Contractor Licensing 

Law. Because exemptions are narrowly defined, a farm 

labor contractor should carefully review the exemptions 

contained in Idaho Code §44-1602. 

Farmers who use an Idaho Department of Labor licensed 

farm labor contractor will not be held jointly liable under 

Idaho law for any wages left unpaid by a farm labor 

contractor. The licensed farm labor contractor will remain 

the farm workers’ employer and will be solely responsible 

for the payment of their wages. 

VIOLATIONS ― PENALTY 

Idaho Code §44-1616 (1) Any person who intentionally 

defaces, alters or changes a farm labor contractor license, 

or who uses the license of another, or who knowingly 

permits another person to use his license or acts as a farm 

labor contractor without a license shall be guilty of a 

misdemeanor, punishable by a fine not to exceed one 

thousand dollars ($1,000), or up to sixty (60) days in jail or 

both. Each violation shall constitute a separate offense. 

(2) Any person who violates any other provision of this 

chapter shall be guilty of a misdemeanor, punishable by a 

fine not to exceed three hundred dollars ($300), or up to 

thirty (30) days in jail or both. Each violation shall 

constitute a separate offense.  

 

 

The information provided in this publication, is from the Idaho Department of Labor's Wage & Hour Division. It is 

provided solely for educational and informational purposes and does not constitute legal advice. The statements 

expressed may change depending upon the inclusion or exclusion of additional facts or background information. 

If you require legal advice, you are encouraged to consult an attorney who is actively engaged in the practice of 

law and who is admitted to the bar in your jurisdiction or the Idaho State bar association. 

Rev. 5/2023 

 

https://www2.labor.idaho.gov/whclaim
https://www.labor.idaho.gov/dnn/Local-Office-Directory
https://humanrights.idaho.gov/
https://iic.idaho.gov/
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IDAHO DEPARTMENT OF LABOR WAGE AND HOUR SECTION — WEB PAGE — 800-843-3193 

 

BOISE AREA OFFICE 

219 W. Main St. 

Boise, ID  83735-0030 

Phone: 208-332-3579 ext. 3506 

Fax: 208-639-3257 

  

NORTHERN IDAHO 

Post Falls Local Office 

600 N. Thornton St. 

Post Falls, ID 83854  

Phone: 208-332-3579 ext. 3532 

Fax: 208-639-3257  

  

SOUTHWESTERN IDAHO 

Caldwell Local Office 

4514 Thomas Jefferson St. 

Caldwell, ID  83605-5100 

Phone: 208-332-3579 ext. 3195 

Fax: 208-639-3257 

 

 

SOUTHEASTERN IDAHO 

Pocatello Local Office 

430 N. Fifth Ave. 

Pocatello, ID 83205-4087 

Phone: 208-332-3579 ext. 3659 

Fax: 208-639-3257 

  

EASTERN IDAHO 

Idaho Falls Local Office 

1515 E. Lincoln Road 

Idaho Falls, ID  83401-2129 

Phone: 208-332-3579 ext. 3559 

Fax: 208-639-3257 

  

Program Supervisor 

Phone: 208-332-3579 ext. 3659 

Email: Artie.Holmes@labor.idaho.gov 

  

 

https://www.labor.idaho.gov/dnn/Businesses/Idaho-Labor-Laws
mailto:Artie.Holmes@labor.idaho.gov

